If you’ve been pulled over and arrested for DWI in West Virginia, you need to contact an attorney immediately. DWI Attorneys in Charles Town WV understand the implications of this type of charge and the consequences you may be facing. They work to craft a defense that will minimize these consequences. Following is some basic information about the penalties which may be imposed if you’re convicted of this crime.
For your first offense, you may be facing up to six months in jail with fines and penalties of anywhere from $100 to $1,000. License suspension typically runs from 15 to 45 days, and you may be required to obtain an ignition interlock device (IID). For a second offense, the judge may sentence you to six to 12 months in jail and take your license for one year. An IID will be required, and your fines could run anywhere from $1,000 to $3,000. With a third conviction, you face up to three years in jail and your license will be suspended for a one-year period. You must obtain an IID, and you may have to pay penalties and fines of up to $5,000. The washout or lookback period for prior convictions is ten years.
As DWI Attorneys in Charles Town WV will explain, your BAC plays a role in whether you’re convicted of this crime. For those under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 percent is enough to have you declared legally drunk. For adults 21 and older, the BAC may reach .08 percent. Commercial drivers are only permitted a BAC of .04 percent before they may be convicted of driving while under the influence. Your DWI Attorneys in Charles Town WV may try to craft a defense which disputes the accuracy of the test.
What is the implied consent law? In West Virginia, if you refuse to take the chemical test when asked to by law enforcement, your license will be automatically suspended and you may have to pay a fine. For those who refuse this test the first time, the license will be suspended for one year or 45 days when an IID is installed on the car for one year. For a second offense, one may lose the license for five to ten years, and a third offense leads to a lifetime suspension. Contact DWI Attorneys in Charles Town WV immediately for help.
Be the first to like.